Faulty or need of an Update?

So Ive had the Sc5000M for about a month now, having a few issues, I’ve read about the need for firmware updates and Prime etc but I want to know if my Deck is faulty or everyone has the same issue and are waiting for the next update. Issue 1, whenever I start the deck for the first time it takes about 5 minutes for the track to play without slight erratic tempo changes which are audible and cannot mix in or out because of it.

Issue 2, when I try to nudge the platter like Im on a 1210 deck its impossible to beat match, Ive been beatmatching for 30 years so its not me!, it seems the platter movement does not match the audio file movement, for instance if I nudge it in time it then slows itself back down so its out of time again, The BPM is matched and I have to use the pitch buttons (which also take 5 mins to operate)

I like to mix tracks for a long time and Im concerned that these decks are not the right outfit for me

if other users are the same and can clarify its just a software issue that will put my mind at ease

2 Likes

InMusic has been informed of various speed issues in the M and the non-M. I have not noticed them being worse on the M during the first 5 minutes of turning one on, though. Any specifics you can give other than it just being the first 5 minutes? Can you replicate this? Can you make a video to show what you’re talking about?

The M’s motor overcompensates, and in a laggy manner at that, much like VL12 when there’s resistance against the direction of movement or it is forced to deviate from the rate it’s expected to move at, so I think on issue #2 this is what you’re experiencing. I have told InMusic about that, too. Try low torque mode and see if that improves anything.

1 Like