Do I have two libraries? How does this work?

Hi I’m new to the Denon and I have when looking at my collection duplicates of every song. When I click on each duplicates and “Show in Finder” one half is stored on the dropbox Folder that I used to import all my song. (Lets call it Folder 1). Now after a couple of weeks I now noticed which I haven’t before that every song in Collection has a doublicate and that one Is in The Folder Engine Library that is also located in my dropbox (Lets call it Folder 2).

What Am I doing wrong here? I ofc. only need one library and how. How do I fix this?

Thankful for all the help!

Hello @DennyTwist

The main collection view shows all songs stored on all drives. If You open the (drive) location tab in the view You will see, that it shows Your local music and all what was exported from Engine prime to other drives that are connected. Engine treats Dropbox folder as a drive.

If You plug in Your USB drive to the computer it will also show songs from that drive in main collection window. But that does not mean, that on the local drive there is a duplicate file. Of course it can be, but Engine is not duplicating any files on it own.

@DennyTwist in addition to everything that @NoiseRiser has already written to you correctly, I would also like to add a tip to avoid the confusion of having the same track repeatedly listed: before starting to work on Engine Prime, remove all your external drives that contain the Engine databases (i.e. the USB sticks, SDXC or external HD cards that you will then connect to the console), in this way you will only see the tracks present in the your local database (i.e. the one on your computer) and you will avoid confusion.

1 Like