Record using TIDAL

Hi, I’m new to the DENON DJ. I have hired TIDAL and when I want to record it won’t let me. Is there no way to record music using TIDAL? In order to record, do I have to have all my music downloaded to a hard drive? Thank you so much Ernesto

Hi, no you can’t record streaming services for very obvious reasons.

2 Likes

There is a way but you will need to invest in a device to do so

Thank you very much to both. TIDAL is a good option to have songs that you don’t have in files. I am a simple amateur, I worked as a DJ many years ago with Lenco, Technics 1500 MKII, Ecler, etc., the topic has changed in recent years. I have the DENON controller connected to a QUAD 44 preamp with a QUAD 606 power amplifier, I have a TAPE input/output and the issue is which device I connect to the REC output of TAPE to record the session I do. I have seen that you cannot use TIDAL on PC with Engine DJ. Ryan what devices do you say I would need? Thank you very much again

Something like a Tascam recorder will do it.

Failing that you can use a Soundcard/Interface to feed sound into a PC and record into Audacity.

Thank you very much, I will try the soundcard/interface option on the laptop with the amplifier

1 Like

If you have an old DVS sound card you no longer use, that would also be ideal, you could feed into one of the input channels on there.

No, I do not have. I will buy a USB sound card, install audacity software and connect the amplifier’s recording output to the computer with RCA and that’s it. I hope

1 Like

That will work, as long as the device is outputting sound you can take that sound for recording.

I have both prime 4 and prime go, when I want to record from tidal I simply connect one to another and record on secondary device.

The whole ban is nonsense as is it bypassed super easy, and if someone wants to rip music from tidal there are amazing softwares to do so, just link the playlist and it will rip all tracks with proper filenames and metadata.