Playlists don't seem to sync back from device

So I’m relatively new to the Denon DJ ecosystem and library management seems to be the area where I’ve had to do the most learning so far. At first I was pulling my hair out when trying to figure out why I was getting duplicates etc, but once I figured out how the distributed DB works and switched to keeping my entire music collection on my external drive things seem to be working well.

But I’m running into a weird issue, not sure if it’s a bug.

I have a workflow where I use my laptop to quickly preview some tracks and then pull them into crates and playlists, since the tracks are all on the my USB drive the only thing to sync are the details of these crates & playlists themselves.

Then, on the Prime Go I add cue points and make any changes needed to my playlist. For example I added an extra track to the playlist when practicing to make the mix flow better.

But when coming back to the laptop I found that Sync Manager says “no details to sync” weirdly enough the cue points showed up, but the extra track is not there… Am I doing this wrong? Feels like this is exactly what moving to / from the devices should allow me to do - especially when both should be referencing the same DB files on the USB.

If you read the Engine Prime manual, you will see (page 27) that only metadata is synced back from the device to Engine Prime.

Yes, Sync Manager really is that bad!

Forget Sync Manager. Drag and drop instead.

1 Like

Wait a minute

Is this the drive you plugged into the GO?

ie same drive goes back and forth between laptop and Go, then sync manager is right by saying there is nothing to sync. The database is the same.

1 Like

Ah! You’re totally right - that means there’s never anything to sync.

However for some reason the Go and Engine on Mac seem to have the playlists in different states. 12 songs on the Go (I added a song while practicing) and 11 on the Mac. Same Drive & DB… weird