Sweep Effects Pot Loose

Hi Forum people,

I have an issue relating to my P4 sweep effects pot which id like your opinion on.

basically the pot on channel 2 feels like its loose in its housing, the securing nut below seems nice and tight but the central shaft section which the plastic cover goes onto seems to have allot more free movement than the others. The pot still functions as normal and doesn’t create any anomalies in the sound but it just feels like its just about to break.

This P4 unit is permanently installed at home so doesnt travel and ive been playing for around 20 years so have a good idea of how to care for my gear but this is odd.

Has Anyone else come across this before or possibly experiencing this already?

hoping that im being a little oversensitive with what should be normal function to be honest but i dont think i am.

The whole prime 4 is obviously still in warranty , in fact. I don’t think there’ be any prime 4 that aren’t in warranty yet. This means that you taking it to bits and having a look isnt a good option.

You said that the extra movement on that pot doesn’t affect your audio in any bad way. So I’d be thinking about leaving it as it is until the warranty has got a month left and then check it thoroughly again then. But, as you also don’t need the prime 4 for any disco use to customers, as you said that it only always stays at home, then it won’t matter if you send it off to get it looked at under warranty - if warranty covers cosmetic / non-performance affecting things.

I think you misunderstand, I have not taken it to bits as you imply despite my competency to do so and repair the product successfully but I am fully aware that such exploratory repair missions would void the warranty entirely and rightly so.

As im sure you are aware, the plastic button tops come off all of the pots including the up faders and also the cross fader but Im also aware that removing these does not void the warranty.