Search by comment question

I am new on this forum and i need a quick answer because i d like to buy a pair of SC5000 in these days… I have been using Traktor for many years, building and organizing my collection using “Comment” tag. For me it works like this, i give you an example: i am playing and i need something that wlll shake the dancefloor? i search on my comment “tribal” or i need something with a sweet voice to create more harmony? i search on my comment “female” …that’s my way to play. At the moment i almost don’t know the title of many track that i play, and i this way i can play by mood or kind of sound tagged in my comment.

So the question is: at the moment is it possible to search by the QWERTY mode on SC5000 typing my tags? is it possible filter tracks by my comments or tags? I tried to explain my need at the best of my poor english… Thank you in advance for answering me.

1 Like

Hi @Pillola Apologies for the delayed reply.

You can use the ability to search by comment in Engine Prime. Then you can pre-organize your tracks using Crates and Playlists by the results of your comment searches. For example, if you have 3 major comments - “High Energy”, “Starters” and “Chill Out”, you can search for each of them and then create a crate based up on that each name.

But @paul_denondj - could it be done the way I think Pillola means…? On the fly, directly from the SC5000 when on a gig! It can be difficultt to sit home and build 5000 crates and therefor it could be way more effevtive. Lets be honest - Engine Prime aint the quickest car on the road, and updating crate after crate, can take several hours, even if you only need to transfer/ update10 tracks. Could it be a future feature, and is it something you already have in mind?

4 Likes