[REVIEW] MCX8000 after 3 months of use

Having been an owner of the MCX8000 since the start of Jume 2017, I decided to take the time to share my thoughts on the controller after three months of use. To give you all a bit of background, I work as a DJ in Aberdeen, Scotland three nights a week both in pub and club venues, however I still use the MC6000 Mk1 controller in my pub residency as the DJ box is too small for the MCX8000. It has been used primarily in an eighties club and also for a very busy student club gig.

This post describes my thoughts on the controller, VirtualDJ and the Engine 1.5 standalone software and mode.

The controller

The MCX8000 is an extremely solid piece of kit. The build quality is stellar and the switches, faders and pots are good quality. I have had no issues whatsoever operating the controller and it has been 100% solid in operation.

Positives:

Build quality Sound quality Very good mic channels (although a bit hot). This can be lessened with the use of an in-line attenuator. Screens are bright and well laid out both in standalone and midi control mode (VirtualDJ). Jog dials are correct tension. EQ on the booth output is a handy feature to correct sound in some venues. Buttons for just about everything.

Negatives:

Mirrored layout. Probably a personal thing but I am still thrown out when going to use the sync and shift buttons. Plastic screens. They attract a lot of dust (static) and scratch very easily whilst being cleaned. Very occasionally the pads won’t register and need a harder push. Overall size of the unit. Can be difficult to fit in some DJ booths. Stage linQ interface for the ethernet port seems to be unavailable.

Interface with VirtualDJ