Poor sound quality on MC6000 MK2

Hello everybody and I am pleased to be part of your community,

This is my first DJ controller. I have been mixing tracks at weddings for a few years now but just “radio mixing” using Virtual Dj + mouse and keyboard. This was ok for the multiple genres of music that you have to mix at a wedding but I wanted to upgrade my performance a little bit and I got this controller. I started playing with it and learning how to use all the controls on VDJ 7. So far I am very happy with it except for a huge downside. The sound quality is very….poor.

I started noticing at my last gigues that the sound quality is worst since I got the controller (same sound system with same settings that I used for years). There is less base and the mid and highs sound very “scratchy” to the ear, with less detail. All the sound is more compressed with less dynamics. Sounds flat, punchy and aggressive especially on the high frequencies.

I didn’t expect that it will sound worse than the onboard sound cards from my laptops. Most of the times I just used the integrated sound card from my Asus and Dell laptops ( WIN10 and WIN7) and I had better sound. I was just playing this morning before I got to work with the sound card from my ASUS X542UA-DM521, Intel® Core™ i5-8250U and the controller. I used my headphones (AKG K81DJ) in order to not make any noise at 4 A.M. in the morning. I put the same song from VDJ thru the controller and I listened to it on the headphones output. Then I plugged the headphones directly into the laptop’s sound card and played the same song with winamp. The sound from my laptop was a lot more dynamic, more detailed, and less aggressive on the highs, with more base…