Planning to get into DJing

Hello everyone!

I’m completely new in the DJ space, but it is something that I have always been interested in diving into at some point in my life, and I think now is a perfect time. If I ever become a decent DJ or not doesn’t really matter, and I’m fully aware it probably will take a few years to get there (or anywhere). My goals are mostly for the hobby, maybe doing a few gigs at my work, and probably twitch streaming.

I’m sure this has been asked probably as many times as there are numbers of threads in this forum, what hardware should I get?

I’ve researched this topic for a few weeks already, and I have concluded that I definitely will go for Denon HW. Feature-wise and having used Denon HW in the past, and also being completely unbiased when it comes to the different software choices out there, I’m sure I will be fine with the Engine software and Denon! Also, before I describe the choices of HW that I have looked at, I just want to point out that I know that choosing better HW does not make me a better DJ :wink:

I’m simply a tech geek, and I know that I have always regretted going cheap later because one day, you will want to upgrade, and that will just end up costing more.

Let’s assume I have €2500-3000 to use on a DJ setup (I already have studio monitors since I’m playing a keyboard/workstation, and good Sennheiser cans).

Things that I have looked at:

• 2 x SC5000 + X1850 mixer
  • Prime 4 all-in-one controller (main concern is if one piece of it breaks, you need to replace the whole thing, and I’ve seen many reports of so-and-so quality of it)
  • 1 x SC6000 + X1850 mixer (will the experience be awful using one SDJ, using layers?)

I would love to hear your comments; maybe I’m just aiming too high? :slight_smile:

Thanks!