NI STEMS Support: Possible future feature?

When NI announced it’s STEMS format a couple years, ago, I got excited. This format is much simpler than what they had previously attempted with remix decks (which required a lot of setup work).

I was also impressed (as a Software Engineer myself) NI’s approach to the STEMS format: It’s based on the completely standardized MP4 file format, and they’ve published an open spec so that anyone can go off and implement support for the format.

The SC5000 seems like a potential great fit for this format. Imagine loading up a STEMS file, and then having virtual faders available on the touch screen to adjust the different components of the track. Drop a vocal, play just a bass line, the possibilities could be great.

With multiple vendors supporting the format, it might also increase it’s popularity.

Currently, STEMS selection is rather limited, but it shouldn’t have to be.

Something to add to the feature list… (which I’m sure is already pretty long!)

4 Likes

The fact that STEMS never really took off (no other companies making products, very limited sources for tracks) is a bit indicative of it being a solution for a rather narrow segment of DJs.

By the same token, if you can build in the functionality and not have it bother those that do NOT want to use STEMS, why not. Of course, the effort to program this in will always be checked against what else is on the wishlist and how big a group of DJs you would please with that. Which means any STEMS compatibility might just stay firmly in the future

Yes, I think NI didn’t quite do the release right. When they first came out, of course they only worked in Traktor (and still do).

The initial release also required special hardware for them to even work (F1 or S8), which again limited the market of DJ’s that would use the format.

With such a limited market, what is the incentive for producers to create STEMS tracks?