New to Tidal

Good day all,

As the title stated I’m new to Tidal. I have been using Tidal with various units/setups and have become stumped with using it with the Denon 4. There are two things I can’t seem to do with Tidal on the Denon 4.

1. I can’t analyze all of my track at once. I have to play/select a track, it will download automatically, and then analyze it as it downloads. Now if you only have a few tracks that is fine; however, lets say you have over 100 tracks, that can be very time consuming.

2. Can’t seem to figure out how to sort a playlist in Tidal by way of BPM. Every other platform I have used no problem, but with Tidal big problem.

If there is someone who has figured out these dilemmas I would be very appreciative of you knowledge on what I need to do. Thank you for taking the time to read my post and in assisting me with my issues.

DJ JerzMic

1. Yes, it´s true - thats very time consuming. You can use following trick (but anyway time consuming): Do a playlist with all your tracks in Tidal for your gig. Load this playlist to the zone mode player. Let it play through zone mode player. Or: Load this playlist to your normal deck, and turn on continous mode. Press play - and leaf the player alone for a while (or enjoy the music xD).

After playing your complete playlist, all files are analyzed.

(For the behavior: See Tidal as emergency library - and not as your main lib.)

1. You can´t sort them by bpm, because they have no saved informations about the bpm in the tracks. Tidal is only a normal music streaming service. It was never meant for using this by dj´s. So they only have Artist & Trackname in their tags, maybe the record lable, but that´s it.

If you need BPM then choose Beatsource LINK or Beatport LINK. This sources are for DJ´s. See tidal only as a backup, when you need a track, and you don´t have it.

Greetings Dark

1 Like

It’s a pity that the hardware doesn’t allow us to:

1. Analyse all tracks in a playlist
  2. Sort by BPM