New to Beat Gridding - Drum & Bass

I’m completely new to Beatgridding and it’s become quickly apparent that Engine doesn’t analyse drum and bass that well, especially if it has beatless intros.

What i seem to be finding is when i try to line up the grid with a snare or a kick it seems later on down the track the beat grid goes out, which to me suggests that it’s getting the BPM wrong.

Are there any tips of suggestions or links people can point me to for beatgridding drum and bass using Engine Prime and also is there a reason why it seems so hard to line the grid up with the beats throughout the entire track?

You can shrink the grid lines spacing using the plus and minus sign in the grid edit menu

ie

if the grid starts correctly but starts drifting in a consistent manner, scrub ahead and use the plus sign or negative icons

it will correct the bpm and the grid will line up

if its definitely a track that has consistent tempo, then you can scrub to the end, adjust the tempo using + or -

Here’s a video of a track I’m trying to beatgrid, I’ve lined up the first beat with an anchor but throughout the rest of the track it’s all out.

https://watch.screencastify.com/v/pY2Qw7PdSSfbjpbocSRM

You can see I’ve tried using the + - buttons in the beat grid edit menu but they just seem to move the grid bars and not actually shrink the gaps in between.

This is the first time I’ve ever tried bid gridding because my house tracks normally get analysed perfectly without the need to do this, but now I want to start DJing drum and bass.

that track is 172 bpm

even though Engine Prime detects it wrongly you can still make the correction in the first couple of bars

1. identify the first downbeat, drop an anchor, make sure its on a whole number, if it isn’t slide the grid to get it on a whole number.

2. after that press CUE, the number on that point will reset to 1 (we need it for reference)

3. now press play and listen for a 8 beats