Moving / Backing up/ Restoring backup of engine prime database

Fairly new to engine prime, I just have questions regarding backing up and then moving a prime database to another computer whilst retaining the saved hot cues and loops. What is the best way to go about this?

I have heard that the best way is to clone your internal computer drive but I was wondering is their not a more practical approach to doing this? Or can you move the engine library folder to another machine and simply relocate the audio files associated with the saved hot cutes and loops on the new machine like you can do with recordbox?

I do use apple’s time machine anyways so that’s basically a drive cloner anyway incase I accidentally corrupt something during this moving process.

Like I said I’m new to prime and with over 350 tracks that have 8 hot cues and loops, its obviously extremely time consuming so im looking to safeguard all of my prime data

Some searching goes a long way… the steps I’ve posted previously are in literally the top Google result.

https://lmgtfy.com/?q=engine+prime+drive+sql

1 Like

And the most pointless reply goes too…

3 Likes
  • Backup your Engine Prime library folder to another partition.
  • Move your music collection folders to the other computer, on a partition having the same letter assigned and keeping the same folder and files structure.
  • Open Engine Prime on the new computer, create a new, blank database, then close Engine Prime.
  • Copy the Engine Prime library backup folder and replace the newly created engine library folder on the new computer.
  • Restart Engine Prime.
2 Likes

This feature is not available on Engine Prime. Give the feature request a like.

https://community.enginedj.com/t/relocate-missing-tracks/12251?u=mufasa

Carbon copy cloner does incremental updating but you may still be stuck if the file paths change.