MC6000mk2 hangs after a couple of hours

Hi,

Relatively new to mobile DJing - working around 4 years now. I’ve been using the MC6000mk2 for the last 2 years and love it, except that what started as an odd one off problem, has now become an issue every time I use it, meaning I now rely on my backup MC2000 as my main controller.

Initially, it happened just once - in the middle of a set, later in the evening, after around 3 hours of playing, the controller and VDJ software froze up - the s/w glitched onscreen, with a track paused but flickering side to side, no output, and the controller flashing random lights and not responding to any button pushes or fader movement - either through the PA or visible on the s/w.

For months after, it worked perfectly, and then suddenly happened again - a restart cured it.

But more recently it has started to happen more often, such that I cannot trust it to run even an hour without it happening. I’ve updated the firmware, and also the VDJ software. There is some talk elsewhere that this may be due to overheating, but I can cite cases where I was working in very hot conditions and it did not occur. Is there a chance that dust can affect this and a build up has caused this to clog and overheat far worse than it would normally?

Many thanks,

Neil

Because midi controllers are just dumb boxes like a joystick but with more Buttons on, there’s not a lot in them to freeze.

I’d try running your controller on a different laptop or computer. The thing you say about everything being fine for an hour or two is classic laptop behaviour. A laptops heat is inversely proportionate to its speed and reliability