Lossy vs. Lossless

I’m just curious, how many of you are for whichever camp? Lossy vs Lossless. MP3/AAC/OGG vs. WAV/FLAC/AIFF/ALAC?!?

Digital DJ Tips (for whom I have madd respect) posited this on their Facebook page. With more streaming services going fully Lossless, is this what the majority of DJs need? I would argue that the majority ‘don’t need’ Lossless, but speaking for myself, I am 100% on board with Lossless. I am just curious what the rest of you on here think. Given the ridiculously cheap price of solid state storage these days, is the MP3 still warranted?

Since I buy nearly ALL my tracks on either Traxsource, Beatport, Juno, or Bandcamp, AIFF, FLAC & WAV (though I prefer AIFF) are my mainstays. I have been buying Lossless exclusively for over 12 years. Even most of my earlier (pre-'07/08) library has been updated with Lossless as it becomes available.

1 Like

When I started “real” DJiing in 2007-8 playing with MP3’s was a bit of a heresy :laughing: so my collection is 99% WAV 1% AIFF. I know real 320kpbs mp3 sound “decent” but… Tag and artwork limitations on wavs don’t bother me, having full waveform, key and bpm is like being in paradise after many years playing with CDs :laughing:

2 Likes

It’s one of those holiday lights questions. If you’ve got a string of 1000 lights and one of the bulbs is out, the owner of the lights will notice, but only the most annoyingly pedantic anus of a neighbour is going to notice, and even then only some fraction of a fraction of those noticing l, Will actually March up to you and tell you. Even fewer, if any, will March up and actually criticise you for it.

Nothings perfect.