Hard time understanding Library Management (rekordbox combined with Engine DJ)

I am relatively new to the Denon platform and just got two SC6000s a few days ago. So far, I’ve been using Traktor with the SC4 Mk3 and a macOS laptop. My SC6000s are on Engine OS 2.0.2.

Let me start by describing my (file) setup:

• I’ve got all my music files (the actual *.mp3 files) on a FAT32 formatted, 1TB USB 3.1 memory stick.
  • The rekordbox Library, e.g. the meta data, is on the same external drive in the default /PIONEER folder.

I’m having a super hard time understanding the supposed workflow to get the SC6000s integrated into the workflow. In this post, I summarize a few observations along with my assumptions. If more experienced users would comment, that would be awesome. Also, I’m super thankful for any tips how to optimize this workflow.

First observation:

When I insert the USB drive containing the music files and the Pioneer formatted rekordbox meta data into the SC6000 for the very first time, it recognizes the native rekordbox library and asks whether it should import it. It also give me a pretty ambigues info about overwriting existing playlists.

However, when I select YES, nothing happens. There are no Playlists. It seems as if nothing got imported. When I eject and plug-in again, the prompt to import is not displayed.

This also happens with a 32GB memory stick. Accessing songs via Folders does work and the SC6000 is able to load from the 1TB stick. So I guess it’s not a size problem.

Any idea why the import seems to do nothing?

Second observation:

Since importing the native Rekordbox collection & playlist for whatever reason on the SC6000 did not work, I switched to the desktop workflow.