Can I Run Prime Engine on 2 PCs?

Sorry if I ramble a bit here - I’m not quite sure I’m asking the right question, so I’ll give the background first.

I’ve been using a PC based playout system since about 1999 and that system has its own proprietary format, so I’ve had to start building my collection in Prime Engine from scratch since I decided a Prime 4 was the way to go forward. I’ve so far managed to convert around 5,000 tracks using a laptop, but sometimes I’d like to be able to sit in my office and use the PC to add more tracks into Prime Engine.

So the question I think I need to ask is, can I somehow copy or export the entire collection of crates from the laptop to a desktop and then back again, and if so how? The only thing I can think of so far, is to re-create all of the crates manually and import the folders of music into them and there’s going to be around 250 crates of 100 tracks each by the time I’m finished…

I know how to copy the whole lot into the Prime 4, but what about between 2 Windows machines using Engine Prime?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

I am sure there is going to be more knowledgable guys than me chiming in but to point you in the right direction, I would imagine you just need to copy the engine folder from one computer to the other. Anything you do to the tracks would be saved in there. You might need both computers to have the same file structure…

Hope this helps

Correct, both computers where the engine library is stored need to have the same location and folder structure for the engine library and your music library.

I’ve actually done this myself when migrating from my 4 year old laptop to the current one.

For me, I actually store all my music on a dedicated data drive (D:) - my engine library is also stored on that drive so all I needed to do was copy the relevant contents of drive D on my old laptop over to drive D on my new laptop.

1 Like

Or you could just use an external drive for your music,

Pros