Best workflow to REPLACE a song file with another file

Hello everyone,

I’m new to EP and the Prime 4, having received my Prime 4 just yesterday. So far, I have been able to successfully import my Rekordbox Collection with no problem into EP in my MacBook Air, and transfer the results into a SanDisk Ultrafit 32GB USB flash drive. The files load and play as expected in the Prime 4 and I’m quite happy with it. But I think some of my files are low quality and I would like to be able to replace them with WAV, FLAC or ALAC versions of the same song. A second need to replace a file is when I end up having to warp a live band recording in Ableton Live, or Melodyne, in order to get tighter beat grids. Just this morning I was playing an oldie that had real bad tempo by a live band and I thought about the need to replace that file with another one after I go thru the warping process.

How one would go about doing it? Can anyone advise of the easiest method to accomplish this?

if the file is going to be the same filename, theoretically the simplest way to update would be to overwrite the old file on disk, then locate in ep and and reanalyze. i have not tested this.

if that didn’t work, or if it’s not going to be the same filename, or for a more thorough process you could do this:

1. locate your track within ep
  2. right click > Show in Explorer (now you have the bad file highlighted in a new window.)
  3. right click > Remove from Collection (this removes from the db)
  4. delete bad file from folder
  5. move good file into folder
  6. drag good file into EP collection/crate/playlist(s) and analyze
2 Likes

Thanks @jalderwood. I suppose I should perform the above actions on the (for lack of better words…) “Master” Collection, right? (As opposed to the Collection that is subsequently recorded in the USB flash drive).