Best quality recording on Prime 4 - Internal HD vs Audacity vs other USB Interface?

Hi folks.

Before I start this ISN’T a topic on the ‘volume’ of the internal P4 recording, but more a question about the ‘quality/fidelity’ of the recording.

I tend to find the quality of the internal recording in the P4 not as clear/crisp as the original source (even after normalising/amplifying post in Audacity).

I’ve started to go back to recording sets at home directly into Audacity on my Mac via RCA cables from the master out.

But I’m now wondering if the quality would be even better if I recorded through a 3rd party USB Interface (like the Focusrite Scarlet 4i4 or 2i2) which comes with Ableton Lite DAW, and used this for recording into my Mac (rather than straight into Audacity).

I’m no expert - but could an independent USB interface produce better recording quality results than the internal P4 or Audacity programme?

Or are they all likely to sound exactly the same, given the quality is ultimately determined by the source material itself - ie the prime 4?

Hope that makes sense!

I’m thinking about buying a Scarlet 2i2 interface to see if this gives better results. Or am I wasting my money!? Anybody tried recording form the P4 into a USB interface and had better results?

Be interested to know your thoughts. Thanks.

What’s up Stulynn,

I have yet to use the recording feature on my Prime 4 so I can’t really speak to the quality. As far an alternative way of recording, what has worked great for me over the years is going RCA to and external USB soundcard connected to my Mac. This is the same method that I and many others use to feed clean audio for dj webcasts. These soundcards (pre COVID-19) were quite inexpesive ($20 - $40 U.S.). Because of the high demand price gouging has recently tripled the price.

Another alternative is going straight from your Prime 4 to your Mac/PC with a RCA-to-1/8 cable. My experience is that the audio is sub-par.

I hope this helps.