Can you connect VL12 Turntables?

I’ve recently dug out all my old vinyl and have been looking at buying some decks and mixer. Everyone I know is telling me to get a controller over a mixer, something that wasn’t around when I used to mess around years ago. At least, not as readilly available if they were around.

What model Controllers in the Denon DJ range allow to connect VL12’s?

I’ve never used a controller before so do you have any advice on what to get?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

If you’re interested in going digital in the future you should get a controller. But not just because everbody tells you to. Also, beware that even the more expensive all-in-one controllers still don’t have the same quality (sound, components like phono-preamps, build) like the club mixers. You can get a mixer and still go digital (with DVS), mixing using single deck controlers like the NI X1 or connecting CD players to control software.

A lot of options really, so take your time to learn more about this “new” tehnology and not just jump on the same train as everybody else.

Denon controllers that can function as standalone mixers (that’s the term for saying you can plug CD players or turntables into it and use them as a regular mixer) are:

MC3000 (only line level inputs and limited, best used for DVS)

MC6000mk1

MC6000mk2

MC7000

MCX8000

2 Likes

Strike the MC3000 off that list. The line-in inputs are not routed through the mixer section - they are directly linked to the master so not really appropriate for turntables. Everything else on that list would work as a standalone mixer, but not all can run DVS if that is the route you’re looking to go.

1 Like

Thank you so much. This perfect and exactly what I need to know.

Thanks for the update. I appreciate it. I’ll be honest, it’s a lot more confusing than it used to be. Mentioned I wanted to get some decks for old vinyl and had all sorts recommended from friends. It used to be so simple lol.